1 Comment

GameStop getting into the retro business

It seems that GameStop really wants to get into the retro game business and they will now take in your old games. While I want to applaud GameStop for doing this, they don’t have a very good track record when it comes to getting into the retro games. I always hear constant negative stories about how people¬†purchased a retro game from their website only to get a bootleg copy of it or a reproduction of said game. My other concern is how much credit you will get per game because anyone who has ever done business with GameStop will tell you myself included that can be very stingy when it comes to how much they give for games. The other concern that was brought up is that if GameStop feels at any point in time they want to discontinue this program what will happen with all those retro games, will they simply dump them like they’ve been known to do. While I want to be on board with this they don’t seem to have a good track record with retro games so far lets hope they improve they’re retro practices.

 

 

About mherrera697

I've been gaming for many years now from the early days of the Nintendo all the way up to now. I was part of a site for a number of years but decided to venture out on my own. I created this site to see how far I could go on my own.

One comment on “GameStop getting into the retro business

  1. I’m always happy to see more people have the opportunity to play and own the games that I played growing up in their original formats, but I don’t think I would personally buy any from GameStop. I have nothing against them, but there are some really awesome local stores that specialize in older games and I always like to support local business before supporting a corporation. I hope that their expansion into retro won’t hurt the small guys too much, because there are some really great and passionate people running some of the smaller stores.

    -avideogamelife.com

Leave a Comment

